Thursday, August 27, 2009

SJHL announces hall of fame inductees

The Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League is pleased to announce the creation of the SJHL Hall Of Fame and Wall Of Honor.

The SJHL virtual Hall Of Fame includes a 12-team Wall Of Honor, 1-league Wall Of Honor, and 1-SJHL Hall Of Fame.

The SJHL prides itself on Rich Tradition, Strong Future and therefore has created a venue to recognize greats from years past. In general, the premise is to highlight success for those players, officials, coaches, and builders who used the SJHL as a springboard for future success.

Annually, teams will nominate a candidate on their team’s Wall Of Honor to be considered for the SJHL Hall Of Fame.

A selection process based on merit and other determined criteria shall select no more than six Hall Of Fame inductees per year. A Hall Of Fame Game will be played in conjunction with the Hall Of Fame Weekend. The Battlefords North Stars will be in Weyburn to face the Red Wings on October 9th. A Hall Of Fame Banquet and Induction Ceremony will highlight the festivities on October 10th.

The entire weekend is a presentation of Highwood Distillers.

This year’s inaugural inductees include:

Ron Hextall (Melville Millionaires). Hextall used the Millionaire program as the initial stepping stone toward his glorious career in the National Hockey League, predominately spent with the Philadelphia Flyers. He won the Conn Smythe Trophy as a rookie in 1987 for being the NHL’s MVP during the playoffs. He also was the first ever netminder to shoot and score a goal at the NHL level, something he also accomplished in the playoffs. He’s currently the Assistant General Manager for the Los Angeles Kings.

Chris Chelios (Moose Jaw Canucks). Chelios spent three years in the SJHL and parlayed his Junior ‘A’ career into an NCAA scholarship before landing on the scene with the Montreal Canadiens in 1985, getting named to the NHL All-Rookie Team. He has won three Norris Trophies for being the NHL’s top defenseman. The 25-year NHL veteran is hoping to begin his 26th season this October.

Wayne Kartusch (SJHL President). Kartusch spent 26-years as President of the SJHL, resigning his post in 2003. He has received numerous accolades and honors for hard work and dedication to the sport of the game. He has been bestowed a lifetime membership to the SHA as well as the Canadian Junior Hockey League. He’s also been named Hockey Canada’s Volunteer Of The Year. He was enshrined in Saskatchewan’s Sports Hall Of Fame in 2007.

Ron Rumball (Weyburn Red Wings). Rumball has provided the Red Wings with forty years of service, holding roles on the Board of Directors, Director Of Scouting, Assistant Coach, Interim Head Coach, and General Manager. A retired school teacher, Rumball continues to seek out talent for the Wings, who have a storied history as one of the SJHL’s most storied franchises. His most recent major accomplishment was serving as GM for the 2005 RBC Cup champions.

Dwight McMillan (Weyburn Red Wings). McMillan has won over a thousand regular season games in the Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League, putting him in an extremely elite class with Scotty Bowman (NHL) and Brian Kilrea (OHL). His tenure as a player and/or coach has spanned five decades with Weyburn and he wielded some magic in 2005 by taking a fifth place team and leading them to an RBC Cup (national championship). McMillan has ties back to the Red Wings as far back as 1961 when he appeared as a rookie on the very first Red Wing club ever.

The SJHL is extremely proud and pleased to announce the creation of the virtual Hall Of Fame and Wall Of Honor as well as to recognize these five very special individuals for being the first ever inductees.

No comments: