Wednesday, May 18, 2011

Saskatchewan golfer on Golf Channel

Kent Eger from Regina is a competitor on the Golf Channel's Big Break this season. Click on the following link to see his bio from the show and check your local listings for upcoming shows.

Kent Eger Bio

Tuesday, May 17, 2011

Thiel signs with Riders

The Saskatchewan Roughriders announced they have signed non-import linebacker Peter Thiel. The financial details of the signing were not released.

Thiel (6’1 – 220 lbs) has played at the University of Saskatchewan. In 2010, the 22-year-old was outstanding for the Huskies on defence as he tallied 20 solo tackles, 22 shared tackles and one quarterback sack in six games. Last season, Thiel also took part in the East West Bowl and was named a Canada West All-Star.

The Regina native has two seasons of CIS eligibility remaining. He will take part in Rider Rookie Camp which will begin on June 1st at Mosaic Stadium.

The Riders also announced that Saskatoon Hilltop safety Graig Newman (6’1 – 195 lbs) has been invited to take part in this year’s Rider Training Camp. The Saskatoon native is heading into his fourth season with the Hilltops.

Friday, May 13, 2011

Off to the Queen City!

I've got a bithday party in Regina this weekend so I'm hitting the road.

Ill be back Sunday and heading to Griffiths Stadium for SasKota bowl tryouts.

Enjoy the weekend!
Sent from my BlackBerry® wireless handheld


Here is another edition of the podcast.

The show still does not have a name. Feel free to toss your ideas around in the comments section or on Twitter at

This week on the show: CJVR's Darryl Skender, Huskies' WR Jade Etienne and music from Eldebrock.


Monday, May 9, 2011

Broncos get dynamic pair


To no one’s surprise , the acquisition of Jeremy Boyer and Justin Buzzeo at the January 10 trade deadline sees a hefty return going back to Humboldt.

The much awaited futures in that deal were released on Monday with the Terriers announcing that Clarke Breitkreuz and Robbie Ciolfi—arguably their top two players in this season’s Credit Union Cup playoffs were off to Humboldt as they begin to prepare a team that they think is good enough to compete for the RBC Cup seeing they will be the host team for the 2012 event.

Terriers GM Don Chesney told GX94’s Craig Stein that it’s a deal he doesn’t regret even though his team fell one game short of an SJHL title.

“I’d make that trade again in a heartbeat,” Chesney told Stein. “Those players were electrifying and got us right to the last game of our league. A bounce here or a bounce there and we could have beaten La Ronge. The task now is to do what we have to do to make Yorkton a team that we can get back to the finals and hopefully win.”

Breitkreuz had 68 points in the regular season and added 22 more in the playoffs while Ciolfi had 52 points with another 24 in the playoffs. Both will be counted on to provide that and more for the Broncos as they look to bring the RBC Cup back to the SJHL next May. The fact that both Breitkreuz and Ciolfi were so close to a league title this year will only make them hungry to taste a title and perhaps much more next year.

Mueller to Eskimos

(The Canadian Press)
EDMONTON - Accoring to The Canadian Press and CTV News, veteran Regina Rams pivot Marc Mueller has signed on with the Canadian Football League's Edmonton Eskimos.

Sunday, May 8, 2011


Over the past little while I have been working on setting up a podcast and today it launches.

The podcast does not have a name yet, but hopefully with your help and a little creativity it won't take too long to name the show. The podcast will be mostly Saskatchewan sports talk with a little something else thrown in now and then.

I hope you enjoy.

In today's podcast I talk to Kevin Jesus of Global Saskatoon and Josh Lewis of the Estevan Mercury.

Wednesday, May 4, 2011

Blades Elliott, Molleken recognized at WHL awards

Calgary, AB - The Western Hockey League announced the 2010-11 winners of the annual WHL Awards presented Wednesday, May 4th at the WHL Awards Luncheon held in Calgary, Alberta.

CLICK HERE to watch the full video archive of the 2011 WHL Awards Luncheon

WHL Player of the Year, Four Broncos Memorial Trophy
Darcy Kuemper (Saskatoon, SK), Red Deer Rebels

Tyler Johnson (Spokane, WA), Spokane Chiefs

WHL Rookie of the Year, Jim Piggott Memorial Trophy
Matt Dumba (Calgary, AB), Red Deer Rebels

Sven Bartschi (Langenthal, SUI), Portland Winterhawks

WHL Goaltender of the Year, Del Wilson Trophy
Darcy Kuemper (Saskatoon, SK), Red Deer Rebels

James Reid (Calgary, AB), Spokane Chiefs

WHL Defenceman of the Year, Bill Hunter Memorial Trophy
Stefan Elliott
(North Vancouver, BC), Saskatoon Blades

Tyson Barrie (Victoria, BC), Kelowna Rockets

WHL Most Sportsmanlike Player, Brad Hornung Trophy
Tyler Johnson
(Spokane, WA), Spokane Chiefs

Stefan Elliott (North Vancouver, BC), Saskatoon Blades

WHL Scholastic Player of the Year, Daryl K. (Doc) Seaman Memorial Trophy
Colin Smith
(Edmonton, AB), Kamloops Blazers

Adam Lowry (Calgary, AB), Swift Current Broncos

WHL Coach of the Year, Dunc McCallum Memorial Trophy
Don Nachbaur
, Spokane Chiefs

Jesse Wallin, Red Deer Rebels

WHL Executive of the Year, Lloyd Saunders Memorial Trophy
Lorne Molleken
, Saskatoon Blades

Mike Johnston, Portland Winterhawks

WHL Humanitarian of the Year, Doug Wickenheiser Memorial Trophy
Spencer Edwards
(Coquitlam, BC), Moose Jaw Warriors

Jeff Einhorn (Red Deer, AB), Chilliwack Bruins

WHL Marketing / Communications Award
Calgary Hitmen, Mike Moore

Tri-City Americans, Brian Sandy

WHL Regular Season Champions, Scotty Munro Memorial Trophy
Saskatoon Blades: GP – 72 W – 56 L – 13 OTL – 1 SL – 2 Pts – 115

WHL Top Scorer – Bob Clarke Trophy
Linden Vey – (Wakaw, SK) Medicine Hat Tigers

GP – 69 G – 46 A – 70 Pts – 116 PIM – 36